Report from the NSRA Scottish Rifle Meeting 2017 (1st – 7th July)

Competitors from throughout the United Kingdom travelled to the Range in the grounds of Thirlstane Castle, Lauder, to contest a wide range of individual and team competitions over 50m and 100 yards from 1st to 7th July 2017.

As usual, the weather conditions contributed to making the competition both interesting and frustrating. Saturday to Monday, while dry, was windy with a typical 15mph gusting 30mph wind from the North West – generally left to right across the range. Tuesday saw light wind from a Southerly direction but featured constant rain. The remainder of the week was mainly dry but while the wind was light, the direction unpredictable.

The Scots acquitted themselves well throughout the range of competitions with highlights from the results featured below:

Individual Competitions

Weekend Aggregate


  • X             2nd RR Simpson, 3rd WA Copland
  • A             1st J Cole-Hamilton, 3rd I Shanks
  • B             1st S Dalgrano, 2nd M Smith, 3rd G Gooch & K Nixon
  • C             2nd R Dove
  • D             1st R Shand

Main Aggregate


  • X             2nd K Greenaway
  • A             1st R Macleod, 2nd J Cole-Hamilton, 3rd S Gemmell, 4th I Shanks
  • B             4th K Nixon, 5th S Norval
  • C             1st R Dove
  • D             1st R Shand, 2nd I Stark, 3rd F Taylor & C Scobie

Unsquadded Aggregate


  • X             3rd K Greenaway, 4th WA Copland
  • A             1st J Cole-Hamilton, 2nd I Shanks, 3rd S Gemmell
  • B             2nd S Sandground, 3rd S Blackwood, 5th K Nixon
  • D             1st R Shand

Veterans - 1st RR Simpson, 2nd I Shanks & J Cole-Hamilton

Junior U18 - 1st M Carswell,  2nd I Stark

The Scottish Championship (Earl Haig) - S Sharp


Team Competitions

  • County Sextette - 2nd Aberdeenshire
  • Lord Forteviot Challenge Cup - 1st Alloa A
  • New Zealand Challenge Shield - 2nd Bon Accord, 3rd Alloa A
  • Ron Russell Trophy - 1st Alloa A


STS Smallbore Rifle Competition

  • Long Range Match Play Championship (Freuchie) - C Ogle
  • C&D Section (Skean Dhu) - W McAuley